Coach Supervision or Super-Vision? (by Sylvie Schoen-Schlumberger)

      

Contact us

+32 (0)473/36 31 36 or Contact form.

Related pages

Latest news

ICF Code of Ethic

Ethics ICF Belgium has established a 15-poi...read more...

ICF becomes self-regulatory

The Single Market Observatory (SMO) of the Europea...read more...

Supervision or Super-Vision ? Individual and/or in group


(by Sylvie)

I got introduced to supervision while I was engaged with a school to supervise the students. I enjoyed so much doing this that I decided, soon after, to specialize myself in Supervision, in a long term program (almost half of my time for one year), in London. With time, I became passionate by supervision. I just love this reflecting dialogue we establish together with the coach to think about the past, in the present, for the future to just engage in the learning.

I define supervision as two words - super and vision – as in super-vision. To me, this is the process of helping the coaches to step back, metaphorically, from their work so that they may take a meta-perspective, or broader view, of their practice.The objective of supervision is not to « coach-the-coach », as it is often understood. Rather it is for the coaches to go beyond their professional and personal obstacles and to create a safe place for the form (learning), norm (standard) and restoring (recharging).

Coaches in supervision often refer to their experience of having time and space to think about particular aspects of their work and especially to think/reflect with a trusted colleague who will microscopically explore their practice with them, contribute to their understanding, learn new ways of practice (through observation and practical experience) and recharge their batteries. "A place to breathe and learn" (Peter Hawkins & Shohet).

This support enables the coaches to contain and resolve some of the more challenging parts of their work. A process of reflection with a coach supervisor helps the coach to become aware of relevant strengths and weaknesses. It also allows gaining more than one perspective or interpretation of a client situation.

"For me, supervision for coaches is a collaborative learning relationship that supports the supervisees in their coaching practice and development, both personally and professionally. Through the process of sharing their practice, supervisees not only develop their interrelationship and intervention skills, but also receive feedback, support and challenge for their coaching and client handling. It provides a hugely powerful forum to attend to the emotional and professional safety, as well as the well being of the supervisees (coaches) and their clients (coachees)" (Alison Hodge- 2011)

For the coach, supervision is a great value. Supervision is highly recommended - if not required - by all professional associations in their code of conduct and ethical code.

Coach Supervision ou Super-Vision? (by Sylvie Schoen-Schlumberger)

      

Contactez-nous

+32 (0)473/36 31 36 ou Contact.

Les pages liées à ce sujet

Nouveautés

Code éthique ICF

Déontologie ICF Belgium a établi un code de...lire l'article...

ICF becomes self-regulatory

L"observatoire du marché unique (SMO) de la Commi...lire l'article...

Supervision ou Super-Vision ? En groupe et/ou en individuel


(par Sylvie)

C'est lorsque j'étais active dans une école de coaching que j'ai commencé à superviser des étudiants. J'ai tellement apprécié cela que j'ai décidé, rapidement, de me spécialiser en Supervision, dans un programme long (presque la moitié de mon temps durant une année), à Londres. Avec le temps, je suis devenue passionnée par la supervision. J'aime juste cette réflexion, ce dialogue que le coach et moi établissons pour réfléchir au passé, dans le présent, pour le futur, pour continuer à apprendre.

Je définis la supervision en deux mots - super et vision - comme dans super-vision. Pour moi, c"est un processus qui permet au coach de prendre de la distance, métaphoriquement, par rapport à son travail afin d'adopter une méta-perspective, une vue plus large, sur leurs pratiques, dans leurs métiers de coachs.

L'objectif de la supervision n'est pas de "coacher le coach", comme c'est si souvent compris. C'est plutôt de permettre au coaché de dépasser des obstacles professionnels ou personnels et de créer un espace sécurisé pour apprendre, standardiser et recharger son énergie. (For the form (learning), norm (standard) and restoring (recharging)).

Les coachs en supervision décrivent souvent leur expérience comme d'avoir du temps et un espace pour réfléchir à des aspects spécifiques de leur travail et plus spécialement de penser et de réfléchir - avec un collègue de confiance - qui, méticuleusement, explore leur pratique avec eux et ainsi contribue à une meilleure compréhension, apprennent de nouvelles manières de pratiquer (par de l'observation et des expériences) et ainsi de recharger leurs batteries : «Un endroit pour respirer et apprendre - A place to breathe and learn" (Peter Hawkins & Shohet).

Ce support permet au coach de contenir et de résoudre des parties de leurs travails qui représentent des défis. Un processus de réflexion avec un superviseur aide le coach a être plus conscient de ses points forts et faibles. Cela permet aussi de gagner plusieurs perspectives ou interprétations de la situation d'un client.

"Pour moi, la supervision de coachs est une relation d'apprentissage commun qui donne un soutien aux supervisés dans leurs pratiques et leurs développements, à titre personnel et professionnel. Par ce processus de partage d'expérience, les supervisés non seulement développent leurs relations interpersonnelles et leur qualité d'intervention, mais aussi reçoivent du feed-back, du support et sont challengés sur leurs coachings et la façon dont ils s"occupent de leurs clients. Cela fournit un forum extrêmement puissant pour atteindre la sécurité émotionnelle et professionnelle, ainsi que le bien être des supervisés (les coachs) et de leurs clients (les coachees)" (Alison Hodge- 2011)

La supervision représente une énorme valeur. Elle est vivement recommandée, si pas exigée - par toutes les associations professionnelles dans leur code de conduite et leur code d"éthique.